Asia Resource Minerals announces Chris Walton and Nick Salmon as independent Non-Executive Directors

– UK, London – Asia Resource Minerals plc is pleased to announce the following Board changes:

Chris Walton will join the Board on 1 January 2014 as an independent non-executive director and will become Chairman of the Board of the Company on completion of the separation transaction, which the Company expects to take place by the end of January 2014. Following completion of the separation transaction Samin Tan will remain a non-executive director of the Company.

Chris currently serves as Chairman of Goldenport Holdings Inc and Lothian Buses plc.  In addition he serves as Senior Independent Director and Audit Chairman of Rockhopper Exploration plc, and as Audit Chairman of the Kazakhstan State Railways (KTZ).  He is also a non-executive director of the Institute of Directors and a non-executive member of the Audit and Risk Committee for the Department for Culture, Media and Sport.  Prior to taking up his non-executive appointments, Chris served as Finance Director and Chief Financial Officer of EasyJet plc from 1999-2005.  Prior to that, he had a varied career encompassing roles in the mining, logistics and airline industries.

Nick Salmon will also join the board on 1 January 2014 as an independent non-executive director and on 1 February 2014 will become the Senior Independent Director of the Company

Nick is currently the Senior Independent Director of United Utilities Group plc, having held this position since 2007. He was Chief Executive of Cookson Group plc from 2004 to 2012 when he stepped down on completion of the group’s successful demerger. Prior to this he was the Executive Vice President of Alstom SA, Chief Executive of Babcock International plc and held senior positions in the power station construction industry with GEC (UK) and CLP ( Hong Kong). Through his career, Nick has gained a wealth of international experience and held global responsibility for businesses across multiple jurisdictions.

Sir Julian Horn-Smith, the current Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Director, has informed the Board that he will be stepping down as non-executive director on 31 January 2014.

Steve Shapiro, an independent non-executive director, has also informed the Board that he will not be standing for re-election at the next Annual General Meeting of the Company.

Samin Tan, chairman of Asia Resource Minerals said, “As Chairman, I welcome the appointments of these two well-qualified non-executives and look forward to working with them as we restructure the board. I would also like to extend a big thank you to Sir Julian Horn-Smith. As Deputy Chairman Julian has provided tremendous support both to me and the Board as a whole and played a substantial role in the short albeit difficult journey of the Company over the past couple of years. On behalf of the Board, I wish him well with his future plans.”

Sir Julian Horn-Smith, senior independent director said, “It has been a privilege for me to have played a part in the transition into Asia Resource Minerals with its focus on Berau. As I hand over my responsibilities as Senior Independent Director, I am delighted that the Board has been strengthened to the extent it has.”

Nick von Schirnding, chief executive of Asia Resource Minerals said, “I am delighted to welcome Chris and Nick to our Board. They both bring a great deal of experience to the Company and they join at an exciting and critical point in our journey.”

- DisclaimerNews, data, and statements included in this release are intended exclusively for general information purposes. Talent4Boards does not guarantee that news is accurate or about the correct person and accepts neither liability for the consequences of the reader’s reliance, nor responsibility for the accuracy of the information. Nothing in this release should be considered for decisions about referred securities. Products and brand names may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners.

Comments are closed.