Wizz Air appoints Peter Agnefjall to its Board as Independent Director

– SWITZERLAND, Geneva – Wizz Air Holdings plc (LSE:WIZZ), the largest low-cost airline in Central and Eastern Europe and one of the fastest-growing airlines in Europe, today announces the appointment of Peter Agnefjäll to the Board of the Company as an independent non-executive director with effect from 24 July 2018.

A Swedish national, Mr. Agnefjäll was the President and Chief Executive Officer of IKEA Group from 2013 to 2017. Following his graduation as a Master of Business Administration from the University of Linköping in 1995, Mr. Agnefjäll joined IKEA’s trainee programme in 1995 and he was subsequently promoted a number of times within the group, including to roles acting as the assistant to former Chief Executive Officers as well as the founder of IKEA, Ingvar Kamprad before finally being promoted to President and Chief Executive Officer. During his 4 years in that role, Mr. Agnefjäll oversaw the profitable growth of IKEA with a regard to positive impacts on people and the planet. Turnover grew more than 35% to €36 billion, with an average net profit of €3.5 billion/year. Co-worker numbers grew from 30,000 to 140,000 with increased co-worker satisfaction and measurable progress on diversity. Mr. Agnefjäll also led the digital transformation of the business, with several new platforms being developed and implemented which increased digital turnover and grew online sessions from 1 to almost 2.3 billion visits. Sustainability was also a key focus, with significant investments in more than 730,000 solar panels and 415 wind turbines, with the aim that IKEA should produce the same amount of energy as the group consumes from their own renewable sources.

At the same time, Mr. John McMahon will retire as a Director of the Company with immediate effect after more than six years’ service, during which time he acted as the Company’s Senior Independent Non-Executive Director and a member of the Audit Committee and Nomination Committee. Mr. Agnefjäll will be appointed as an additional member of the Audit Committee and Mr. Simon Duffy, the chairman of the Company’s Audit Committee, will be appointed as the Senior Independent Non-Executive Director. Mr. Barry Eccleston will be appointed as an additional member of the Company’s Nomination Committee. All appointments will take effect from 24 July 2018.

Commenting on the changes, William A. Franke, Chairman said today: “I am delighted that Peter Agnefjäll has agreed to join the Board of Wizz Air. As Wizz Air moves into the next phase of its growth with the delivery of the first of 256 ultra-efficient Airbus A321neo aircraft that we have on order, his experience of leading, developing and transforming a successful low-cost brand, that is loved by billions of people across the globe, in a profitable, sustainable and engaging way will bring an added and valuable element to Board discussions.

At the same time, we bid farewell to John McMahon who is retiring from the Board after more than 6 years as a valued and knowledgeable independent non-executive Director. We thank him for his contribution not only as a Board director but also as the Senior Independent Non-Executive Director and a member of the Audit and Nomination Committees.”

Mr Agnefjäll is currently also a director of Orkla ASA. Other than this directorship Wizz Air confirms that there is no information to be disclosed under the requirements of Listing Rule 9.6.13R in relation to the appointment of Peter Agnefjäll.

For more information : http://www.wizzair.com

- DisclaimerNews, data, and statements included in this release are intended exclusively for general information purposes. Talent4Boards does not guarantee that news is accurate or about the correct person and accepts neither liability for the consequences of the reader’s reliance, nor responsibility for the accuracy of the information. Nothing in this release should be considered for decisions about referred securities. Products and brand names may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners.