Wizz Air appoints Maria Kyriacou to its Board as Independent Director

– SWITZERLAND, Geneva – Wizz Air Holdings plc (LSE:WIZZ), the largest low-cost airline in Central and Eastern Europe and one of the fastest-growing airline groups in Europe, today announced the appointment of Ms. Maria Kyriacou to the Board of the Company as an independent non-executive director with effect from 25th September 2018.

A joint British and Cypriot national, Ms. Kyriacou is currently President International ITV Studios, part of ITV plc. Maria oversees ITV Studios’ production companies across Europe and Australia, its growing US scripted business, plus international distribution arm ITV Studios Global Entertainment (ITVS GE).

Ms. Kyriacou started her career with PwC in their audit and advisory division, before joining the finance team at The Walt Disney Company. She held a number of positions with The Walt Disney Company over a 15 year term culminating in the role of Senior Vice President Digital Media Distribution EMEA. In 2010, Ms. Kyriacou was recruited by ITV Studios as Managing Director of Global Entertainment, becoming Managing Director of Global Entertainment and Rest of World Studios before being promoted into her current role in 2016 where she leads a multi-discipline divisional executive team.

At the same time, Mr. Thierry de Preux will retire as a Director of the Company with immediate effect after more than six years’ service, during which time he was also a member of the Remuneration Committee. Ms. Kyriacou will be appointed as an additional member of the Remuneration Committee with effect from 25th September 2018.

Commenting on the changes, William A. Franke, Chairman said today: “I am delighted that Maria Kyriacou has agreed to join the Board of Wizz Air. Wizz Air has always been a digital-focused business with more than 96% of sales coming through the Company’s website, wizzair.com, one of the world’s top ten most visited airline websites. As Wizz Air moves into the next phase of its digital development with the appointment of its recently-announced new Chief Digital Officer, Maria will bring to the Board first-hand experience of leading a business in a sector that has seen a significant digital shift and which has been at the sharp end of changing customer tastes and the emergence of major digital outlets.

At the same time, we bid farewell to Thierry de Preux who is retiring from the Board after more than 6 years as a valued and knowledgeable independent non-executive Director. We thank him for his contribution not only as a Board director but also as a member of the Remuneration Committee.”

About Wizz Air

Wizz Air is the largest low-cost airline in Central and Eastern Europe, operates a fleet of 104 Airbus A320 and Airbus A321 aircraft, and offers more than 600 routes from 25 bases, connecting 143 destinations across 44 countries. At Wizz Air, a team of more than 4,000 aviation professionals delivers superior service and very low ticket prices making Wizz Air the preferred choice of 31 million passengers in the past 12 months. Wizz Air is listed on the London Stock Exchange under the ticker WIZZ and is included in the FTSE 250 and FTSE All-Share Indices. Wizz Air is registered under the International Air Transport Association (IATA), Operational Safety Audit (IOSA), the global benchmark in airline safety recognition. The company was recently named 2017 – European Airline of the Year by Aviation 100, a renown annual publication that recognizes the year’s most outstanding performers in the aerospace industry.

For more information : http://www.wizzair.com

- DisclaimerNews, data, and statements included in this release are intended exclusively for general information purposes. Talent4Boards does not guarantee that news is accurate or about the correct person and accepts neither liability for the consequences of the reader’s reliance, nor responsibility for the accuracy of the information. Nothing in this release should be considered for decisions about referred securities. Products and brand names may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners.