– UK, London –  Trainline Plc (LON: TRN) today announced the appointment of Brian McBride as Independent Non-Executive Chair with effect from 5 November 2019. Brian was appointed Deputy Chair and Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of the Company with effect from 10 June 2019 and will succeed Douglas S. McCallum, who is stepping down as Chair and retiring from the Board also effective 5 November 2019. This reflects the Board’s desire to achieve good governance standards as set out in the UK Governance Code. Brian’s Board Committee membership remains unchanged.

Clare Gilmartin, CEO, commented: “We are delighted that Brian has agreed to succeed Doug. He brings a wealth of experience having led global players in tech through periods of significant growth, and his expertise will be invaluable for our life as a public company.”

“On behalf of the Board and colleagues at Trainline, I would like to express our thanks to Doug for his outstanding leadership over the last six years. As Chair, he has been a great partner in achieving considerable growth at Trainline, culminating in bringing the Company through its successful IPO in June,” added Clare Gilmartin.

Doug joined the Group in April 2013 and has chaired the company through a period of extraordinarily successful growth and development. As disclosed in the Company’s IPO Prospectus, Doug has remained Non-Executive Chair of the Company to ensure maximum continuity in Trainline’s transition from a privately owned company to a publicly listed business.

Doug McCallum, commented: “It has been a privilege to serve as Trainline Chair for six years and to have worked with the outstanding Executive team to achieve the business’s strong growth. I am really proud of what we have achieved together and am pleased to hand over the Chairmanship to Brian McBride who will doubtless steward the business to further great success.”

About Brian McBride

Brian is Non-Executive Director at Wiggle, the Bridgepoint owned global online cycling retailer and is Non-Executive Director at Kinnevik AB, the Swedish digital investment company. Brian is also Senior Advisor to Lazard’s Global Financial Advisory business and a Senior Adviser to Scottish Equity Partners. He is a member of the UK Government’s Digital Advisory Board, which steers the digital delivery of Government services to UK citizens.

Brian has a strong track record in leading businesses having held many senior positions throughout his career including Chair of ASOS from 2012 to 2018 and Chief Executive Officer of Amazon.co.uk from 2006 to 2011. He has also held Non-Executive Director positions at AO World plc, Computacenter PLC and SThree PLC. He was previously on the Board of the BBC and was a member of the Advisory Board of Huawei UK.

Brian McBride, Deputy Chair and Senior Independent Non-Executive Director, commented: “I am very excited to be taking the Chair of Trainline. As one of the fastest-growing European tech companies, I believe Trainline has a huge opportunity ahead and I look forward to working with the Board and wider team to deliver on its strategy in the coming years.”

About Trainline

Trainline is the leading independent rail and coach travel platform selling rail and coach tickets to millions of travellers worldwide, enabling them to seamlessly search, book and manage their journeys all in one place via its highly rated website and mobile app. Trainline is a one-stop-shop for rail and coach travel bringing together millions of routes, fares and journey times from more than 250 rail and coach carriers across 45 countries.

For more information: https://www.thetrainline.com

- DisclaimerNews, data, and statements included in this release are intended exclusively for general information purposes. Talent4Boards does not guarantee that news is accurate or about the correct person and accepts neither liability for the consequences of the reader’s reliance, nor responsibility for the accuracy of the information. Nothing in this release should be considered for decisions about referred securities. Products and brand names may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners.

Comments are closed.