SSE announces Tony Cocker to its Board as upcoming Non-Executive Director

– UK, Perth – SSE plc (LSE:SSE) announced today that Tony Cocker has been appointed as a non-Executive Director, and he will take up his appointment on 1 May 2018.

Tony has 20 years’ experience of senior roles in the energy sector, working with Powergen and then E.ON until 2017. His roles included CEO and Chairman of the management board of E.ON Energy Trading SE (in Dusseldorf) and Managing Director of the Energy Wholesale and the Energy Trading divisions of E.ON UK. He is also a non-Executive Director and Chairman to the Board of Infinis Energy Management Limited and to the Board of Affinity Water Ltd.

The Board of SSE plc currently comprises the Chairman, three Executive Directors and six non-Executive Directors. Each Director of SSE plc is subject to annual re-election and Tony will stand for re-election to the Board at the company’s Annual General Meeting in July.

Richard Gillingwater, Chairman of SSE plc, said: “I am very pleased that Tony is joining SSE’s Board. He brings a wealth of energy sector experience and insight that will be invaluable in the years ahead as the SSE group of businesses evolves and the sector itself continues to change rapidly.

Tony Cocker said: “I am looking forward to joining SSE’s Board at this important time for the company and for the energy sector as a whole. SSE has a dynamic and sustainable approach to business and is positioning itself well for the future and I am delighted to have this opportunity to play a part in that.”

For more information :

- DisclaimerNews, data, and statements included in this release are intended exclusively for general information purposes. Talent4Boards does not guarantee that news is accurate or about the correct person and accepts neither liability for the consequences of the reader’s reliance, nor responsibility for the accuracy of the information. Nothing in this release should be considered for decisions about referred securities. Products and brand names may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners.