Augean appoints Christopher Mills and Roger McDowell to its Board as Non-Executive Directors alongside Jim Meredith as Executive Chairman

– UK, Wetherby – Augean Plc (AIM:AUG), one of the UK’s leading specialist waste management businesses, today announces changes to its board and also provides an update on trading. Stewart Davies has resigned from his position as CEO of Augean by mutual consent with immediate effect.

Jim Meredith, currently the Non-Executive Chairman of the Group, will expand his role to that of Executive Chairman and lead the business through its ongoing re-structuring and cost reduction programmes.

Christopher Mills and Roger McDowell have been appointed to the board as Non-Executive Directors with effect from 16 October 2017.

Christopher founded Harwood Capital Management in 2011, a successor from its former parent company J O Hambro Capital Management, which he co-founded in 1993. He is investment manager of North Atlantic Smaller Companies Investment Trust plc and is a non-executive director of several companies. Christopher was a director of Invesco MIM, where he was head of North American investments and venture capital, and of Samuel Montagu International.

Roger returns to Augean having previously been a board member of the Group for 11 years between November 2004 and June 2015. Roger brings valuable experience as a successful businessman and entrepreneur, with a strong record of driving shareholder value and serving on the boards of public companies across a range of sectors.

During his previous tenure on Augean’s Board, Roger held the position of Interim CEO (2006 – 2007) and Interim Chairman (2010 – 2012). He was Managing Director of Oliver Ashworth for eighteen years before its sale to St. Gobain. He is currently serving as Non-Executive Chairman of Avingtrans plc, Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of Servelec Group plc and is also a Non-Executive Director of ThinkSmart plc, Tribal Group plc, Proteome Sciences plc and Swallowfield plc.

Jim Meredith, Executive Chairman, commented: “These new appointments greatly enhance the breadth and depth of the board as well as adding additional commercial experience. We are pleased to welcome back Roger who has extensive operational experience of Augean from his previous 11 year tenure as a director. In addition, Christopher brings with him significant experience of achieving operational excellence and growth while seeing through efficiency and cost reduction programmes.

“We wish Stewart well in his future endeavours and thank him for his efforts whilst Chief Executive of Augean.

“The Group has been through a difficult period but I believe its underlying business remains strong and that our strategy and new board now in place will see the Group make solid progress.”

The new board will comprise:

Executive Chairman: Jim Meredith (previously Non-Executive Chairman)
Finance Director: Mark Fryer (existing Finance Director)
Senior Independent Director: John Grant (existing Senior Independent Director)
Non-Executive Director: Rod Holdsworth (existing Non-Executive Director)
Non-Executive Director: Andrew Bryce (existing Non-Executive Director)
Non-Executive Director: Christopher Mills (newly appointed)
Non-Executive Director: Roger McDowell (newly appointed)

For more information :

- DisclaimerNews, data, and statements included in this release are intended exclusively for general information purposes. Talent4Boards does not guarantee that news is accurate or about the correct person and accepts neither liability for the consequences of the reader’s reliance, nor responsibility for the accuracy of the information. Nothing in this release should be considered for decisions about referred securities. Products and brand names may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners.